Inheritance Readalong

Confession: I’m one of those people who talks through movies. I try to keep quiet when I’m watching the movie in an actual theater–after all, everyone paid $10 to be there, not even counting the overpriced snacks–but when I’m watching a movie at home, or an episode of TV, I keep up a running commentary. Sometimes even when I’m reading a book. Even if there’s no one else in the room.

Right now, I’m reading Inheritance. Yes, the last Eragon book. Which I think is going to invite a lot of commentary. And not just through sheer accumulation over eight hundred and fifty pages; this is a book that, for better or for worse, I am going to have opinions about. So, rather than invite wary looks from my housemates by raging at fictional characters, I thought I’d try taking down my observations as blog entries along the way. I’ll proceed under the assumption that spoilers for the first three books are fair game, but since I’ll be writing the commentary as I go along, I won’t be able to spoil anything that happens later in the book.

As an introductory note, I always feel bad about bashing Paolini, because I’ve read his interviews and his fan newsletter and he seems like such a nice guy. He’s so nerdily enthused about fantasy and fandom and world-building and making his own chainmail, and he’s just so thrilled that he’s been published and he has fans! Who read his books! I mean, it’s like kicking a puppy. That said, I have more and more problems with the series as it goes on, so I’ll be airing a lot of my pet peeves along the way, along with the bits that I think he got right.

Finally, some related links:

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

