Mini TV roundup: Do Americans just associate scarves with British men who solve crimes?

Lots of level balancing at work this week, so while I’m playing levels over… and over… and over, I like to have some entertainment on in the background. Luckily there’s a new TV season and I had some shows to catch up on. So, some stray thoughts on Things I Half-Watched While Working Today. Mild spoilers ahead.

Forever:
Ioan Gruffudd’s character increasingly reminds me of Jonny Lee Miller’s Sherlock Holmes on Elementary. At first I thought it was the physical resemblance, the accent, maybe the stubble. But there’s also the rapid-fire deductions, the insistence that a case is/isn’t a murder in defiance of all appearances, the reference to his difficulty with emotional grieving relatives, his slightly ghoulish delight in autopsies… not to mention that line about how Detective Martinez is attractive because the distance between her eyes is 44% of the width of her face. Oh, and he wears a scarf. I’m starting to think that ABC just wanted a Sherlock Holmes show of its own and invented the immortality plot as a distraction. Elementary at least lets the police be competent, though. For example, they don’t have an analog for the guy on Forever who might as well be called Detective Always Wrong.

You know what else this show reminds me of? Forever Knight. Actually, Henry has it easy in comparison. He gets to be immortal without all the nasty side effects of vampirism. I have more sympathy for Nick Knight wanting to be rid of his condition, is what I’m saying. (Just realized I’d written “he gets to be immoral” by mistake. Well, most vampires are pretty immoral…)

Also noted: It kind of deflates the tension of a suspect having a knife at your protagonist’s throat if he can’t be killed, doesn’t it? As a viewer, I know the guy who’s first in the credits wouldn’t die in episode 2 even if he wasn’t immortal. But usually the character doesn’t know that he’s in absolutely no danger.

I do like the running joke of Henry matter-of-factly ranking the worst ways to die, though.

Person of Interest:
They just ran an episode where the characters were basically doing Mystery Hunt. Well, Mystery Hunt with guns and computer hacking as designed by an evil AI, but still, this makes me happy. And there were lots of funny bits, in between the life-and-death stakes and the big emotional beats; Root and Shaw were in particularly good comedy form this week.

I hope Claire comes back later; I’d like to see her in a direct faceoff with Root, as human proxies for their respective machine overlords. And I’m enjoying how well the big mythology elements are being integrated this season, because while it started as a procedural, this is a show to watch for the long-term plot. Basically, this is one of my favorite things on TV right now and I can’t wait to see what comes next.

Agents of SHIELD:

I refuse to call this show Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD. We all know you own it, Marvel, you can relax. Please tell me we won’t have to call the spinoff Marvel’s Agent Carter.

I think I like where they’re going with Fitz, having him be less functional but still brilliant.

Raina’s back! And not working for HYDRA anymore. Still a superpowers groupie, though. Should be interesting to see what she gets up to.

I’m not sure what to think about the trailer for next week. If Simmons turning traitor and going over to HYDRA was exactly what it looked like, they probably wouldn’t spill that in the trailer. Something is going to be not what it seems. I can’t wait to see how Fitz reacts to the news, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under TV

Leave a Reply

