Comics roundup

I may post more about comics in the next few days, since Boston Comic-Con is next weekend and I will continue to have them on the brain. (And Wednesday is New Comic Book Day.) However, to wrap up the weekend, I’m just going to post about the comics I’ve been reading recently.

 

Currently running comic series that I’m following:

Daredevil: See last post for some of my thoughts.

All-New Hawkeye: This is my consolation for the end of Matt Fraction’s Hawkeye (see below).

SHIELD: It’s fun to see the TV characters, like FitzSimmons and Melinda May, folded into the Marvel 616 universe.

The Thrilling Adventure Hour Presents: Beyond Belief: Based on the podcast. There’s a Sparks Nevada comic series too, but Beyond Belief is easily my favorite TAH segment. It’s about this rich, perpetually drunk married couple who are reluctant paranormal investigators.

Rivers of London: Body Work: Tie-in comics for Rivers of London, which I’ve mentioned before. It’s a nice way to get my fix of those characters while waiting for the next book.

Archie: I’m really excited about the recent reboot, even if it’s a little odd to see the old familiar characters in such a different art style. But then, it’s long past time that Archie Comics did something different visually.

 

Recently ended series that I’ve been reading:

The Unwritten: Ended back in November, but it’s taken me this long to get hold of the trade paperback. And… wow. I don’t want to spoil the ending, but it worked so perfectly with the way the series was about metafiction and the nature of story.

Hawkeye: I’m really going to miss this one. Sure, Clint and Kate are still around in All-New Hawkeye, but I liked the focus on the non-superhero parts of their lives. And there was so much creative visual storytelling, like the issue told from the point of view of the dog.

Secret Avengers: Actually, I’m not sure that this series is over for good, but Volume 3 recently ended, and I strongly preferred it to the previous two volumes. It’s not without its moments of darkness, but it’s generally a lot lighter and more fun than before, which is reflected in the playful bright colors compared to the more muted palette of Volume 2. The best way I can articulate the tonal shift is that before Volume 3, I can’t imagine Deadpool appearing in Secret Avengers. In Volume 3, there’s an extended sequence where he pals around with Hawkeye. And there’s a suicidal sentient bomb, and Borges references, and MODOK, and Black Widow and Spider-Woman being BFFs… basically, I hope the series isn’t over, because I would love more of this.

 

Something that isn’t a comic but is based on one:

Big Hero 6: Just saw this and loved it! It’s a bit like an animated version of Real Genius, but with superheroes. I love geek heroes saving the day. It’s why I’m so fond of Grant Gustin as the Flash, and why I never really got into the show Intelligence; it was basically the same premise as Chuck or Jake 2.0, but in those shows the protagonist was a nerd. Anyway, Big Hero 6 rocked and I hope they make a sequel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comics

Leave a Reply

